Breaking my Collarbone Short Story

I made a scene about how I broke my collarbone and what it felt like for my project. In this project I really tried to paint a picture for the reader, and to make them feel like they are their with me through out the scene.

Here is my scene that I wrote about.

It was a hot sunny day in Wenatchee, I jumped for the second bar that seemed miles away. I got a grip on the bar, my body went horizontal to the ground. I let go of the monkey bars because it was super warm outside so it made my hands sweaty, I landed on my right shoulder. The air was knocked out of me, I was gasping for air. It was like someone punched me right in the gut. Once I hit the ground I heard a bone shattering sound like knuckles cracking that pierced the air. I knew straight away there was something wrong with my shoulder. There was an extremely sharp pain coming from my right shoulder, It felt like the throbbing pain after you get punched that would not go away. The first thing I did was sit down and tried to get my breath back. After awhile of sitting down my right shoulder started to hurt even more. I could barely move my arm without my shoulder hurting. I decided to go back to my parents and explain to them what happened. It was super embarrassing to tell them what happened because they didn’t want me to go on the playground in the first place. My parents were watching my brothers swim meet at the pool near by, but I insisted to go to the park anyway. I told my parents I was running around the field outside the pool and I landed on my shoulder. For the next two days I was in excruciating pain so I couldn’t swim any of my events. I had to sit in the sun sweating for hours everyday until we got to go home. Thankfully my parents bought some painkillers which eased the pain and helped me get through the day. After the last day I had enough of dealing with the pain and I felt really bad for lying to my parents. I was super relieved that we got to go to the E.R. back in Seattle but I could not get out of my head that I lied. On the way back to Seattle I forced myself to go to sleep so I could forget about that I lied, and so I wont notice the throbbing pain in my shoulder. Once we got to the E.R. I remembered that I lied to my parents I knew the doctor would ask what happened.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar